The beginning…

19 01 2010

Welcome to my blog! Since we are meeting for the first time (or maybe not :)) I thought I would introduce myself. I am a 23 year old, unemployed, food lover, and closet sugar addict. Promising candidate for a marathon, right? None the less I have set the goal of training and running a marathon. This is not a new goal, I tried last year, got 4 weeks into my training and lost my motivation.  This time I want things to be different and that’s where you come in.

You my unknowing and probably non-existant readership are here to keep me honest. Funny that its easier to be open and honest to complete strangers than it is to your friends and family, especially when it comes to failure, but after trying to come up with a way to stay motivated this seemed the perfect option.  And if anyone else wants to join in on the training the more the merrier.

My training plan is found in the book “The Non-Runner’s Marathon Trainer” by David A. Whitsett, Forrest A. Dolgener, and Tanjala Mabon Kole. It was written by two professors who have taught a course on marathon running with a 100% success rate for completion and by one of the members of the class offering her perspective throughout the entire training process.

Along with my training I will be keeping track of my eating as well as body statistics like BMI, weight, waist size, and resting heart rate. Some for vanities sake and others to monitor how the running is improving my over all health.

And so without further ado we begin Delina’s Marathon Challenge!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

