I can breathe!

19 03 2010

For the first time since I started running outside in Reno I had a run where I didn’t feel out of breath at some point! The run wasn’t spectacular, my shins started hurting a bit about 5 minutes in, but I don’t care. I’m just so happy I finished a run without needing to stop and walk to catch my breath. Admittedly I didn’t run up any steep hills today but I think I’m starting to get used to the elevation.

Also for the first time today I ran without any music. I don’t know that it made the run better. It didn’t make it worse or boring though. It was kind of nice to not be distracted by the music and to just focus on the run. I think I am going to try it again on Sunday for the dreaded 10 miler.

Finally in other news you may have noticed that I haven’t updated my health stats in a while. This was not completely intentional because I’ve been moving around so much recently I haven’t been good at keeping track of them. But I’ve also decided that I am going to try and not worry so much about those things. My main goal is to finish a marathon and if I do that at my current weight I don’t want to feel like I’ve accomplished less because I didn’t lose as much weight as I wanted. So to compromise I will start doing only bi-weekly check ins and I may even drop it back to monthly who knows! Right now I just want to focus on the running. The rest will follow on its own!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

