I put my new shoes on…

12 06 2010

…and everything was not suddenly all right. Actually they made everything very wrong.

After spending an hour in the shoe store researching and trying on running shoes, I finally put on a pair that made my feet feel like they were in heaven. I was so excited to get to run for the first time in them Tuesday. The run when slower than usual but I chalked that up to having to stop while the dog played with other dogs on the trail. Then the pain hit. My right leg hurt so badly I was limping. It lasted for days. I tried running on Wednesday and it hurt so bad I couldn’t then again I tried Friday and while I was a little more successful I was in serious pain and running about a minute per mile slower than usual. The only thing I can think of that could be causing this is the new shoes. It’s the only thing that has changed in the last week. Of course now that I have used them I am stuck with them but I am going to go back to running in my old shoes at least until my marathon is over in July.

Because my leg is still in serious pain I will not be running my long run tomorrow 😦  I am hoping that it won’t hurt my ability to finish the marathon too much. I am only skipping one long run and still have another 16 miler after tomorrow before I jump to 18 miles so it should be ok. I just hope that when Tuesday comes around my leg is back to normal. It would be so disappointing to come this far only to fall short of my goal.

Wish me luck and send good vibes to my leg! 🙂

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

