Ah the power of rest….

20 06 2010

…or cheese which ever you prefer. I think I would have to go with a combination of the two. But for now I am just happy with my decision to listen to Jay and rest last weekend. I don’t like that I had to miss a long run but I can see the difference it made this week. I was able to run every day this week without experiencing any pain in my leg. After running I had the normal aches and pains but even they were less severe than before. Then to top it all of today I ran 16 miles in 2:39:44 seconds. That is less than a 10 minute/mile average!!! Admittedly only by a second, but still. It was a huge improvement over my last 16 mile time.

I don’t know if it was all just the rest and me getting better, the weather was about 10 degrees cooler today, and I switched from GU powder to Gatorade, so it could be a combination of things that made it so I was able to run so much better. But all I care about is that it happened! I was able to run the whole time except when I stopped to drink every 20 minutes. There were no unscheduled walking sessions. And by the end I knew I could have kept going.

The only minor problem from todays run was the Chinese Water Torture that my water bottle inflicted on the center of my back. I mean it wasn’t actually water but the water bottle itself hitting me over and over again but I think that counts. I now have a 1×2 inch spot on my back missing its top layer of skin… I am going to have to do something about that for next week, but honestly if that is the worst thing that happens to me because of my running I can’t really complain 🙂 Now it is time to ice the knees!

I AM A MARATHONER!

Actions

Information

One response

20 06 2010
Jay

Yes you are baby
and you made amazing time today
im so happy for you
i Love you

Rest up
my marathon runner

Leave a Reply

