It’s Official!!!!!!

12 07 2010

Today I officially registered to run the San Francisco marathon!!!! I can’t believe it is less than two weeks away. I do not feel prepared. I know the training book said if you can run 18 miles you can run 26.2 miles, but now that’s all I have left it doesn’t seem possible.

It doesn’t help that I have sucked at staying motivated these last couple of weeks. I don’t know how I went from running 16 miles in awesome time to having no motivation to even run 5 miles. I know in part it was because I had people visiting me which made running a chore I needed to get done so I could play instead of the thing I look forward to each day.  But my lack of discipline was still inexcusable. Because of it, I am now missing a week of taper because I needed to make up my long run. Hopefully this won’t hurt me too much.

On a more positive note I did run 18 miles yesterday, and while I didn’t rock it like I did the last 16 miler it was still pretty good. I finished in 3:11:17 which averages out at 10:37 minutes/mile. Not bad at all. I am aiming for somewhere around 11-11:30 minutes/mile at the marathon since I know I’ll need to conserve energy for those last 8 miles.  The other good news from yesterdays run is that I have a much smaller patch of skin missing from my back this time than I did after the 16 miler. It may be a small accomplishment, but I’ll take what I can get  🙂

Anyway, this week my running schedule should be pretty simple. I run 3,5,3,8. I admit it will be nice to not have to plan for 3 hours of my day being taken up by running. I miss my little 30 minute runs.   Now I will leave you with the wisdom of a much more accomplished runner: “Do the things that you used to do without fear. Take the risk. It’s all right to fall down and scab your knees.” (Side note: while its okay it definitely hurts…can you tell I’m still a little bitter about Jaxson tripping me…)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

